my modular slitaz release

I just made my 2nd modular version of slitaz release. The last one was last year. I have modified  build scripts to work with both slitaz and archlinux. Meaning i have multios support with build scripts.

I add alot of programs to it then base slitaz has. Your going to have look up what i added to iso with ‘tazpkg list’ in shell without quotes. But the highlights are that i got abiword, gnumeric, blender, gimp, inkscape, comix, and vlc to be in module thats under 32mb.

The iso is only 151MB and it runs with only using 40mb of ram.

Here is the iso and md5.

EDIT: It looks like blender didn’t get into the iso. Sorry about that.

~ by godane on April 27, 2010.

7 Responses to “my modular slitaz release”

  1. From the archiso/slitaz desktop right now 🙂 Boots on this ThinkPad Z60m with Intel 915 grfx – slight pause during boot at ‘loaded module sdhci-pci/No active connection to get firmware” – could be 30 secs to a minute wait. Got it to do wireless after dropping fw for ipw2200 into /lib/firmware and using modprobe. Still not quite sure how . . . couldn’t see dhcpcd or dhclient anywhere. Also booted on generic PC with Celeron 2.8 GHz, Aopen mobo with SiS chips, GeForce MX440 w/64MB RAM.

    Looking forward to the revision with firmware included like archiso-live and Firefox 😉 Maybe even dvdc**

  2. Tried to install, get error uable to find “rootfs.gz”.

  3. Great news, I used to follow your work with Arch Linux releases and now I’m pleased you are also doing Slitaz remasters. I’ll try it this weekend and, if needed, may I suggest some features to this “Big Slitaz” release? I thought about building a 650 Mb (or less) Slitaz remaster with the most common used applications, locales, xorg drivers, codecs etc. for it be ready to used out of the box.

    Att.,

    BC

    Ps. Also posted this as a reply in your forum threa.

  4. so if I understand right, this version will load the normal slitaz base system and wil pull gimp and vlc etc. in the RAM only if it’s needed? — pretty cool, if it’s like this. boot remains fast, bu has extra functionality..?

    I just saw it does not mount my 2nd internal drive with its 2 partitions, the main drive is mounted easily however. In normal slitaz3 this works fine.

    • @saneks
      I doesn’t copy to ram since i didn’t put the copy2ram boot option in the menus yet. If your 2nd internal drive is fat32 then that maybe why. Its doing the same thing on my system too. I can still mount my fat32 usb stick. (Also it maybe fat16 thats the problem. I’m just not sure yet.)

  5. they are both windows drives. the first bot drive is found nicely, but the (paritioned) 2nd one not.

  6. so if I understand right, this version will load the normal slitaz base system and wil pull gimp and vlc etc. in the RAM only if it’s needed? — pretty cool, if it’s like this. boot remains fast, bu has extra functionality..?

    I just saw it does not mount my 2nd internal drive with its 2 partitions, the main drive is mounted easily however. In normal slitaz3 this works fine.

Leave a Reply

 
