Archiso-live 20091108 Release

Changes since last release:

* Rebuild kernel with KMS for intel. This may help people with intel graphics problems.

* Updated my safe graphics option to only use vesa video driver. Before it was just not make the xorg.conf file.

* Added arch-games repo to pacman.conf. This is so you get some games if you are using mesa radeon 3d option.

* Added e17-svn back into iso. Also added gnome-ppp, homebank, glables, xsane, and vym to base install.

* Also added seamonkey,audacity, rubix, filezilla, mirage, mtpaint, and rawstudio to the livecd.  There not in base only install option.

Everything is up2date as of 7:30 PM EST on 20091108.

root password is ArchLinux

arch password is arch

Here is the iso, md5, and package list.

Package changes here.

~ by godane on November 9, 2009.

27 Responses to “Archiso-live 20091108 Release”

  1. That ThinkPad guy again, the R51 with 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV grfx. With this iso, the first boot option still goes into the lights off nobody home zone, restart machine. The good news, now writing from the safe/vesa option. Btw, can you make the CD eject at the end of the live session 🙂 – just if you have a spare moment. Not a biggie but nice to have. I see those intel drivers and xorg are causing problems all over – the Puppy guy has a couple of interesting links on his blog. bkhome.org/blog Oh, one other thing, this version didn’t pick up the swap file on the hd, T think swap was recognised previously iirc. Was able to turn it on with swapon.

    • @gnomic
      The reason that swap is not working is cause safe graphics option is also fail safe. So it doesn’t auto mount hard drives on boot. Thats why swap is not working.

  2. Thank you for providing this livecd. Nice choice of programs!
    Have a problem : the kernel doesn’t seem to like my NVIDIA card. And the ‘safe graphics’ version gives me a resolution of 800 x 600. Any hint on how to have at least 1024 x 768? Any bootoption? Or an alternative kernel maybe? Thank you.

  3. Thank you very much for the release, for me it works like a charm 🙂

  4. Thank you.
    But ‘xres=1024×768’ doesn’t help. The screen remains 800×600 in ‘safe graphics’ mode. And blank in normal mode.

    • Hum. The xres option at boot was from a web page for a 2008 version. Sheesh, I dunno, try messing with xrandr? At least that will tell you what resolutions are available, ie whether there is a resolution greater than the 800×600. See man xrandr if you are unfamiliar with it. X window configuration has become a bit baffling since they recently started automating it and the xorg.conf file in /etc/X11 doesn’t always reflect what is going on. Hard to work out what might be happening without knowing anything about yr machine.

  5. […] de los “perezosos”, existe una solución a esto: Archiso, en su reciente versión publicada 20091108, y de la que nos enteramos en La Vida […]

  6. Thank you for trying to help.
    My machine is a Intel Core 2, 2 GB Ram, 320 GB HDD, Nvidia GeForce 8600M video card.
    Need a cheatcode for the command line and do not see how xrandr can provide one.
    Thank you.

    • @joji
      You will be able to use xres boot option in the next release.
      Try this for now:
      xrandr –size 1024×768

  7. Thank you!
    Get following error when booting : “export: 38 .: bad variablename”
    Guess xrandr is to be used on the comand line only, not as cheatcode

  8. Yes, xrandr is not a boot option. Use in a terminal. This link might be useful. Good luck. It could be useful to dig around in the Arch Linux forums searching on nvidia/xrandr/your_video_card for example.
    http://www.linuxtutorialblog.com/post/solution-resetting-your-screen-resolution-with-xrandr

    • @joji
      I got xres working by using newer chakra-hardware-detection. I may have to add more sub-menus so that the it will be more like chakra in that you can select the resolution you want. I think you may change resolution by adding these boot options:
      xdisplay=old xres=1024×768

      It looks like the xdisplay=old boot option was needed in order for xres to work. But these boot option would only work if noxconf boot option is there. The newer chakra-hardware-detection package will added a xdriver boot option. That will allow you to added in the video driver you want to use.

      So it is not possible to do it in the current iso but the next one will have these features.
      I hope this helps.

  9. […] de los “perezosos”, existe una solución a esto: Archiso, en su reciente versión publicada 20091108, y de la que nos enteramos en La Vida […]

  10. The arch-live.isawsome.net site is now only used for file downloads? At one stage there were pages with links to forums I thought, but I can’t see these any more.

  11. Hi

    I tried Archiso-live 20091108 (typing this in it, actually 🙂
    I like it but I encountered a problem: session saving on a usb stick with Fat32 doesn’t seem to work. Anything to do with aufs?
    Booting from a stick with ext3 didn’t work at all.

    Best regards, Sigi

    • @Sigi
      1. Its best to not to use fat32 for changes. Posixovl thats used for changes on fat32 is very slow. It would mostly likely cause corruption of files if its used since it make my usb stick ready old after improper shutdown.
      2. Archiso-live only works on fat32 and ext2 filesystems. I will see about adding more filesystems for the next release.

      • Ok, I’ll see if I can try this again on ext2. (I’m building my own larch7 livesystem atm – original xmini profile for now – so I won’t get around to test this soon)
        What’s strange is that session saving didn’t work at all! Is this the intended behaviour on fat32?

        Best regards, Sigi

      • Session saving on ext2 doesn’t work either 😦

        I had a few problems to get it to boot since the installation with unetbootin seems to be unable to install a bootloader into /dev/sdb.
        When I was finally able to boot archiso-live-20091108, session saving still didn’t work. Do I have to somehow actively save a session or is it supposed to save like larch live systems do, ask for input on wether to save or not in the console?

      • Arrrgh. Why did it take me so long to find “changes” kernel boot option? I wasted at least two hours searching for that… Have to try that one out tonight 🙂

        Btw, is a serifed font the standard on xfce or is this godanes choice? First thing I’ll change once session saving works. Thanks for your work on archiso-live, Christopher!

  12. Starting with the “changes” option didn’t change anything. Still no session saving 😦

    • @Sigi
      Are you doing changes=/dev/sda1/changes or something? Changes boot option is a value.

      • I now created an own livesystem with larch7. Works fine so far, Session saving too 🙂

        It seems that I haven’t applied the “changes” option correctly. Is there any documentation on it?

      • @Sigi
        There is the bootparams.txt file in build scripts.
        It works very much like the slax boot option.

  13. Chris,

    I am having a problem with the autostart.sh in OpenBox. I installed to HD using the /arch/setup-archiso (I think). I have tried editing the /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart.sh, and the local .config/openbox/autostart.sh. I have also tried simplifying the .xinitrc. I am fairly well convinced that I am missing something WRT how SLiM starts the X session. (I put a test ‘echo’ in all of the above scripts to verify when they run) If I run the autostart.sh scripts by hand then I get the expected result and output.

    Feel free to link me out somewhere… I’ve read just about every OpenBox related post on the Arch Forums and in Arch Wiki.

    • Well… I installed entrance to see if maybe it was an unknown (to me) OpenBox compile-time option, or if SLiM was just spazzing.

      Entrance worked perfectly.

  14. […] Godane ha liberado una nueva actualización de Archiso, llegando a la versión Archiso-live […]

Leave a Reply

 
