Archiso-live 20091010 Release

Changes since last release:

* Using the kernel in archlinux core repo since it has the new kernel with KMS for ati now. This will mean no intel KMS with archiso-live.

Everything up2date as of 3:00 PM EST on 20091010.

root password is ArchLinux

arch password is arch

Here is the iso, md5, and package list.

Package changes here.

~ by godane on October 10, 2009.

18 Responses to “Archiso-live 20091010 Release”

  1. Hey first up I love what you are doing here, I feel much more comfortable booting up this than an ubuntu cd nowadays when I need a live system.

    One small request though, could you please use utc and not localtime. It causes all sorts of problems if you want to mount your existing linux drive at some point for any reason (superblock last write time in the future nightmare…).

    In case things have changed, I am using release 2009-09-11.

  2. Keyboard setting is US when booting in an otherwise german setting. Changing the keyboard map is always lost after reboot. How to set it permanently? Thanks.

  3. … (continuing my previous posting) I refer to an installation on harddisk.

  4. Is e17 desktop removed? I find it as an option but it starts xfce

    • @Elias
      E17 is not in the current isos. I removed e17 awhile back because i was trying to make a base only option. That meant for making archiso-live one desktop only. But i have not kept that rule since it has everything but gnome, kde, and e17 desktop in the base only option. I will see about adding it back.

      @jesko
      This may have to do with setting up the KEYMAP variable in the /etc/rc.conf file. You change KEYMAP from “us” to “de” and you should be good.

      @Chris
      I think the reason for not using utc is cause it could cause problems if you have more then one OS on your system. It talk about in the rc.conf link above.

    • The console (outside X) works as expected with your recommendation (KEYMAP set to “de”).

      But this setting has no influence on the keyboard-map inside X: the german keybord-mapping set inside X is always lost after rebooting.

      So I tried (with no success) the following addition to xorg.conf (The “nouveau”-driver is used):

      Section “InputDevice”
      Identifier “Keyboard0”
      Driver “kbd”
      Option “CoreKeyboard”
      Option “XkbRules” “xorg”
      Option “XkbModel” “pc105”
      Option “XkbLayout” “de”
      Option “XkbVariant” “nodeadkeys”
      EndSection

  5. Thank you very much!!! I need it.

  6. Thanks for your quick reply. Since I’m very fond of the idea of Arch+E17 (but I cannot build it myself so…) can you please tell me what is the most recent version including E17?

  7. Hi everybody 😉

    @Godane: When I start git clone git://xxx (your code) on a fresh archiso-live installation, and try to build your last 20091010 Version, slim doesn’t work anymore from scratch. Of course, after manually putting/editing a xorg.conf the problem disappears…

    When I execute my own profile, i have no problems (I do not use slim…)

    I just would like to reproduce this error.

    Your work is in my humble eyes fantastic!

    Greetings from Germany!

    Eddi

    • @eddi
      If your using virtualbox to test the iso i think i know whats wrong. This problem is cause vga video driver is not being installed anymore. It doesn’t exist in the archlinux repo anymore. My auto scripts changes the vga to vesa if its in /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. This normally fixes the problem if your using virtualbox. I will have change fbdev to vesa now since vga driver is not installed anymore. Thanks for pointing this out.

      @Elias
      I can’t remember the last iso that had e17 desktop. It maybe about 2 – 3 mouths old iso at least. I will be adding e17 to the next iso make it easier on updating your system. Cause a iso that old will cause more questions for fixes when updating.

      @jesko
      A simple way to fix this is use the panel keyboard icon. This will give you a way to change the keyboard settings for now. I don’t think it will stay after reboot though. Sorry.

  8. how can i use chinese as locale.

  9. A general question : is there a cheatcode to set the timezone when booting with Archiso livecd? Now it’s always ‘Pacific/Canada’.

  10. Yes, i was working with VirtualBox. I am sorry, I had forgotten to mention it.

    Confirming what you said.

    Eddi

  11. i download iso and test it. it’s just wonderful..
    100 faster than ubuntu live cd

  12. i think archiso will be much lighter if you use lxde as destop environment.

  13. Nice work! Some suggestions:

    * Use lxde as a DE
    * Change to American keyboard layout
    * x86_64 version?
    * Include wvdial and ppp stuff – so people with 3G modems can get an Internet connection
    * I’m sure there’s more!

  14. Hi
    How can I install nvidia? I tried the old way as below but got error:

    arch-live ~ $ pacman -S nvidia nvidia-utils
    resolving dependencies…
    looking for inter-conflicts…
    :: nvidia-utils conflicts with libgl. Remove libgl? [Y/n]
    error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
    :: ati-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1
    :: intel-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1
    :: mach64-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1
    :: mga-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1
    :: r128-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1
    :: savage-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1
    :: sis-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1
    :: tdfx-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1
    :: trident-dri: requires libgl=7.5.1

    Thanks.

  15. Fixed. Just removed libgl with pacman -Rd libgl and installed nVidia using above commands.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
