Archiso-live 20090924 Release

Changes since lasted release:

* Added my own kernel 2.6.31.1. This has kms build into kernel for intel and radeon.

* Added a gtk-recordmydesktop to the apps modules for base install. This is very small so i don’t think there is much of a problem for having this in.

* Wicd is still at 1.6.2 cause there have been problems with the newer one.

* Added a lot of game emulators to a game module. This is not in base folder.

root password is ArchLinux

arch password is arch

Everything is up2date as of 4:00 PM EST on 20090924.

Here is the iso, md5, and package list.

Package changes here.

~ by godane on September 24, 2009.

18 Responses to “Archiso-live 20090924 Release”

  1. I always wish to see a base-only/net-install iso here.

  2. So you quit using slackware’s kernel?

    • @NiX
      I haven’t been using the slackware kernel for over a year+. Everything is with the kernel is archlinux compatible. I still modified the kernel but 3rd party drivers from archlinux repo still work.

  3. Can’t start X-Server on my Samsung NC10.

    Essentially Xorg.0.log says:

    “…
    (EE) intel(0): No modes.
    (II) UnloadModule: “intel”
    (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

    Fatal server error:
    no screens found”

    10,2″ TFT-screen-resolution is 1024×600.

  4. Hey , “Chandan” You said your looking for a base only net-install or w/e , I think what your looking for this Arch-linux base iso The Original (From what this is based on) this is for a GUI install , the original Archlinux will suit you quite fine if thats what your searching for. BTW This Live CD Rocks! Thanks for making it Godane!

  5. I want to install Arch-live on HD on an old 320MB-RAM PC. The gaphical installer freezes because of lack of free memory. The HD has already ext3-partitions and a swap-partition.

    Is there an installer to install from console?

  6. very nice work! it would be great to see also a lxde arch project! nice!

  7. Noticed your post about Archiso-live on the hak5 forum project MultiPass page.

    To boot a fresh archiso-live image from usb thumb drive seems like a very cool thing to me.

    Just a quick question: I really like the work you do, but, if I want to add some packages and files to your version, how would that be accomplished easiest? (I can’t live without my emacs)

    • @kristianholm
      You can make modules of packages with this:
      pacman -Sy
      arch2lzm pkg package

      Also you can added modpath to grub.cfg file for your archiso-live menu. This will allow you to added modules the iso.
      (ex. modpath=modules) It works by bind mounting a folder from the first device it finds to have it.

      You can added a rootcopy folder with rootcopy boot option too. This will allow you to added files to the root filesystem. The only problem i know of is that of permission cause my usb stick is fat32.

      I hope this helps.

      • the modpath option worked pretty well with the arch2lzm command.

        I can’t describe how cool it is to boot archiso-live and use it to customize itself 🙂

        Is there anything you need help with on your project? I would love to help you out with anything I can.

  8. you do a very good job, by the way. Hats off to you godane

  9. Very nice distro! Going to try your lastest on a new laptop.
    Just a little niggle with network manager..keeps losing the dhcpcd lease.;(
    AZ

  10. Woo hoo! Very nice. I’ve done an Arch install previously and didn’t find it too challenging, but did have to do some Wiki browsing and forum searching to get it to work. My new Archiso-live install was flawless, except for monitor detection (Xorg doesn’t grok my monitor on any distro). Copied the Ubuntu xorg.conf to new Arch install and everything worked. I did use the Arch-iso FAQ suggestion to install to previously created partition.

    Particularly like the install GRUB options, especially the one to add Arch to previously created menu. You might consider adding the option to make the new Arch install the boot default (if not already there.)

    Again, thanks! You saved me a bunch of work. I will definitely suggest this for anyone looking for an intro to Arch.

  11. Problem with logging into Arch-live. The screens show that everything is going well and it gets to the point where it should show the login screen and it hangs. When I restart the BIOS is messed up and I have to reload the BIOS. Once I do that I can login from the fall-back image just fine which is where I am now. The regular image still hangs and messes up the BIOS.

  12. […] root password es Archlinux | arch password es arch Lista de cambios | ISO | md5sum Blog’s godane Etiquetas: Archiso-live, Archlinux ¡Comparte este […]

Leave a Reply

 
