Archiso-live 20090808 Release

Changes since last release:

* Replaced xorg-server-catalyst-maximize-fix with normal xorg-server. This is to fix a bug with updating the system.

* Removed shaman since it doesn’t support the new pacman 3.3.0.

Everything is up2date as of 3:00 PM EST on 20090808.

root password is ArchLinux

arch password is arch

Here is the iso, md5, and package list.

Package changes here.

~ by godane on August 8, 2009.

18 Responses to “Archiso-live 20090808 Release”

  1. Whether the installation problem from live cd is solved or not ?
    Its a nice distribution i have been trying to install on harddisk.

  2. So far, so good.
    -2501

  3. It is working very nicely again. Now I am going to try to make it work with last official revision that just came out of Arch Linux.
    -2501

  4. xfce Lockscreen option not working for me…any easy way to solve it?

  5. hello godane

    first of all congratulate you want for your good work in this excellent distribution .. I certainly need a down. isos of new releases of the distribution you’re getting … or is it sufficient with only a pacman-Syu thank you very much .. I expect your prompt response.

    • @juancholo
      The bug with 20090801 is that there were so may major release right after it. This cause some of the conflicts with updating. Shaman just doesn’t want to be update cause it conflicts with pacman 3.3.0. xorg-server-catalyst-maximize-fix just cause problems with updating to the newer xorg-server. The newer iso fixes these bugs.

  6. Can’t get the sound working. I did the Alsa stuff to get the volume mixer set and stored. I tested the wav front_center play and it worked. I put in a CD and nothing. I tried youtube and nothing. I tried a DVD and nothing.

    The pacman worked this time just fine.

  7. Did you try OSS?

  8. This is my first post.
    I think your doing an excellent work with archlive, however I must say that the cd comes full o sh*t. It should be a clean live cd only with xfce, wicd, a browser, video and audio drivers and that’s enough. The rest each user should install it by hand, since every person use different application. Despite your good work, I’m forced to used the official arch installer to get a clean system.

    In my opinion you should put the minimum necessary in the cd. This brings your live cd much closer to arch philosophy and simplifies your work, because you have to deal with a much smaller number of packages.

    Regards

  9. I will second this one. I think the idea of just having 1 application per task would be great(a la zenwalk). Just make sure you add all the codecs.
    -2501

    • @tony & Lulz
      I’m think i may try to make a new installer based on one that i was working on back in 2008. This installer will allow you to remove modules that don’t want installed. There are some problems with the installer right now.
      1. It was made for zenlive 5.0
      2. It used lilo instead of grub. I will try to see how to get grub added.
      3. By being able to remove modules there could be problems on the user end. Most that there remove a module thats need for another program/module to work.

      I don’t know when i will have the installer done. It’s most likely will be awhile since it made for gtkdialog.

      Also this week i updated the slax ‘initrd’ to use the newer busybox that i build. Everything is update to use all archlinux libraries/utilities. It’s stable and we have floppy drive in thunar again. 🙂 I don’ t know how that happened but its there.

      I hope this helps.

  10. …uhmmm…my 2 cents…I think that you don;t need to go through all that mess. You should keep grub as the installer and just add only the apps that are “necessary”. For example: XFCE, Wicd, Abiword, all the codecs + Flash, Firefox(Shiretoko), gecko-mediaplayer and OpenJDK.

    I used to run Slax in the past and it is pretty amazing. It seems that you already decided to use initrd…would not this create conflicts with the udev scripts? Just wondering….

    I think you have created a nice Arch-Live distro, it is just a little bit bloated, that is all, in my opinion. I have to delete a lot of apps that I don’t use every time I make an installation just because I like to keep my Arch very simple and I hate to rely on apps to do my work. But this is just my personal taste. I am pretty sure other users like what you are providing. It is your project, you decide what to do.

    You are the MAN.

    -tony

    • @tony
      I been using slax ‘initrd’ for awhile. Its just i changed it so archlinux initramfs is boot into slax initrd as root filesystme using tmpfs+aufs. This way i didn’t have to rebuild the kernel. Archlinux kernel is more modular then slax kernel so i had to use archlinux initramfs to get the system drivers boot before slax ‘initrd’. There is no udev conflict with the way its done.

      The new iso will be around 500mb i hope. I still plan on adding devede, virtualbox-ose, arista, gtkpod and deluge. There is a menu option called archiso-live Baseonly. This is what you use to have a more miniature install. This will give you the desktop you want. This way i can still have my apps that i like in the livecd and you can still have a way to just install what is need for a desktop archlinux system.

      I hope this help.

  11. Well, the initrd from Slax is your best option. You made the right decision and like you mentioned this would not cause any problem with the udev scripts.

    I love the idea that you made to include this new option to install a base-only version. This would give us the freedom to add what we like. Nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Can not wait to test it when it is released.

    Again…you are the MAN.

    -2501

  12. Updating with ‘pacman -Syu’
    Get following error messages :

    Checking package integrity…
    (100/100) checking for file conflicts [#####################] 100%
    error: could not prepare transaction
    error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
    licenses: /usr/share/licenses/common/FDL exists in filesystem
    licenses: /usr/share/licenses/common/GPL exists in filesystem
    licenses: /usr/share/licenses/common/GPL2/license.txt exists in filesystem
    licenses: /usr/share/licenses/common/LGPL exists in filesystem
    Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

    Anything I can do?

    • @joji
      do this is shell:
      pacman -Syf licenses

      The licenses package has conficted files so it needs to be installed by force. You must be using a older version then 20090808 right?

  13. Thank for prompt reply. You are right : a older version than 20090808 …
    Am afraid my system is dead : am not able to boot anymore. Have to indicate a runlevel and then everything stops.
    Guess I wait for your smaller iso and then try again.
    It is sad I am no longer able to use Archiso-live installed on hard disk. Found it one of the best distributions I have been using. Wonder what I did wrong …

    • @joji
      Its mostly cause of this here. You have to modify /etc/inittab to change vc/ to tty.
      This is fix in 20090808 version. I will try to release a new iso sometime this week.

Leave a Reply

 
